2010

I have been out of the “blogging” loop for a little bit with my lap top dieing on me just before the new year, so here’s the first post of 2010!

I headed up to Lewis Pass on the 1st day of the year to run the St James on the 2nd, but we awoke to heavy rain, quickly packing up the tent and headed for Hanmer, were it was warm and dry. I got a solid 2hr50min, 1100m for my first run of the year. It was a pretty fun run as there are a heap of trails, steep climbs and not a lot is marked/sign posted.

This week has been pretty solid. Only about 7hrs running (the 2 weeks before were 10+ each), but real good quality and about 4000m vertical. This was made up with a 1hr40 loop around BR and Craigieburn,  2 runs up Avalanche Peak and a few easy ones in between.

The first Avalanche Peak run was on Wednesday, after work in heavy rain and strong NW winds. If you raced in the Avalanche Peak Challenge last year then you know how crappy it was, well it was a lot wetter and winder Wednesday night. I wasn’t sure if I would go all the way to the top, but by the time I got to the point were I could have cut from the avalanche track, across to Scott’s track I was only 10-15mins from the top and only about 5 of those would be on the ridge fully exposed to the strong NW gusts, so I kept on going, surprising my self by getting to the top sub 60min, in about 57mins. It was a fast trip down and I did the round trip in about 1hr38.

My 2nd trip up Avalanche Peak was yesterday in much nicer weather. I was a little slower to the tree line than I was on Wednesday, but must have picked it up as I got to the top in 55mins and then took the ridge towards Mt Rolleston. This is the way the race will go (weather dependent) and I wanted to get a split from Avalanche to the top of the scree that leads down to the Crow River. This ridge section is very ran-able and took about 15mins. I then turned around I went back the way I had come (the rivers were running high and I didn’t feel like dealing with hitching back to the village) and down Scott’s track again.

I find it really good to go over the course pre race for any event and the plan is to keep the treed up next week with a trip down south. I hope to have a good look at the Wanaka Skyline Challenge course with a run up Mt Roy, as well as run the Routeburn. Hopefully the weather will be good!

Leave a Reply

