Summer-FINALLY!

Finally it feels like summer has arrived with temps in the high 20’s for the last week or so. After 4 days off running and with a little help my back  came right and I jumped back into training. Since Monday I have gotten out for 8 runs and clocked up just under 7hrs. Doing the math you can see that they have been mostly pretty short. The highlights have been doing my first speed work out since August (which was on ski’s at Porters); running up the Otira Valley until reaching snow, shirtless at 8pm; running barefoot along the grass flats on Turkey Flat; and  today’s 2hrs around Castle Hill/Craigieburn trails that was finished off with a swim in Cave Stream. It was the 4th post run swim this week and there is no better feeling after working up a sweet on a hot summers day. Plus it is great for tired, sore muscles.

I think I will get 10hrs in this week with 1.5hrs planned for tomorrow and 2hrs on Sunday. This is all part of my plan to run every day for the next 3 months or so in a hope to gain some consistency in my training, rather than all the ups and downs that I seem to keep going through.

First race of the new year (and since the Molesworth in late November) in just over a week. The Wanaka Skyline Challenge will be more a training run than anything, but I think its 27km, 1300mvert course will suit me. Its all on tracks (I think-Matt?) and has a nice big, more or less runable 1100m+ climb. I think I will be running it on tired legs, but that’s OK, it is only February……………….

One thought on “Summer-FINALLY!

  1. Yeah it’s all on tracks hahahaha.

    Nice run along the lake shore track for 1/2 and hour before the 1 hour climb to Mt Roy on a farm track. It would be runnable for you, but not for me, I’m a pussy. Along the ridge it is rough single track, very technical, my kind of fun. Then it’s back onto farm track for the long descent back to the valley floor, followed by a short road run back to the start. Hopefully it’ll be good weather and there’ll be a good field. It’ll be a training run for me as well.

    Sunday is going to be a run on the Motatapu track. Not sure if it will be an out and back or a through run yet. We’re staying at the Top 10 Holiday park on Friday and Saturday nights.

Leave a Reply

