Ready

Feel ready to race tomorrow at the Avalanche Peak Challenge, well ready compared to this time last year. A year ago I had just started running again after getting some painful tendonitis, shin split thing going on with my lower left leg. I started running again about 6 days before the ’09 Avalanche Peak Challenge after racking up about 10hr of training (running and biking) in February. Last year I was pretty happy with my 6th place finish, about 20mins behind winner Jacob Roberts on the bad weather course that descents down Scott’s back in to Arthur’s and down the Bealey River.

This year I think it will be a very different story. For starters the weather forecast is looking good and we should get to run the full course- ascending Avalanche Peak Track, a sweet ridge run towards Mt Rolleston, descending into the Crow and out to Klondyke Corner. I run about 4 x as much this past Feb than in ’09, with 17hrs in the last 8days of February. In the 8 day block I got 2 complete runs over Avalanche Peak in, 1 of which was a 56min ascent and 2hr40 out to Klondyke.

For a few reasons I don’t really have much of a race plan at this stage. I don’t know who else will be on the start line yet, but hopefully the likes of Andrew Reese-Jones, Matt Scott, Richie Hunter and 3 x(?) winner Jacob Roberts will be there! It would be great to be able to chase these guys around for  the morning. I am also approaching this race as a hard training run as much as anything, not that I won’t be racing come 1030 tomorrow morning.

I can’t wait………..

Leave a Reply

