Southern Lakes and Bank Peninsula

Another trip south this week for work, but surprisingly this didn’t interfere with training/running too much. I got a cool little outing in at Tekapo, climbing up the Mt John observatory via a steep little switched back track that yielded 300+ vert in less than 15mins of running. Once in Queenstown I got out 3times during my 2 days there. First up was a jog around the Ben Lomand and One Mile tracks. I managed to get a solid 2hrs and 1200m in, and then backed that up with a 1hr cruiser in the rain around the lake.

Running up the Ben Lomand Track

On Thursday I got up for a cool little run around Queenstown Hill- 1hr, 600m and then in the afternoon in Wanaka I did another 1hr25mins along Lake Wanaka towards Glendhu Bay. I had high hopes on Friday morning of tagging Mt Roy before the drive home, but with heavy rain and strong wind outside I couldn’t help but stay in bed….

Snow covered track on Queenstown Hill

Saturday was going to be a double, but after a phone call about a mission the next day I decided resting up would be a good thing. I started out from Lyttelton with Marty at 7am and had my ass dragged around to Diamond Harbor, 5hrs and 2000m later. The run was a great finish to another good week, that included summiting Mt Herbert, the highest peak on the Banks Peninsula.

Sign of the Kiwi with Mt Herbert in the distance.

The week ended up pretty good, much better than I planed- 13hrs and over 5400 vertical meters.

3 thoughts on “Southern Lakes and Bank Peninsula

Leave a Reply

