TNF100 coming up!

Francios will not be at TNF100 this year- but Brendan in front and Damon behind me will be!

It is less than 2 weeks now until TNF100 Australia and I can’t wait. I am super excited about this race    and am really looking forward to getting back to the Blue Mountains, catching up with friends, no doubt making new ones and most of all spending a day out running! The build up this year has been pretty different to last year when I raced TNF100. I only found out I would race maybe 6 weeks before and had not really planed for it. I was already committed to Routeburn and raced that 2 weeks before- not that big of a deal, but I am a low mileage, light on my racing kind of guy. I recovered some what poorly from Tarawera last year (I blame this on track building on the “Hogs Back”). So I was tired and carrying a few niggles. Oh and I was hanging out with a bunch of badass mo fo’s, so I was feeling really pretty intimated and some what out of place. This was all very much my own hang up as the Salomon crew that was at TNF100 were so amazingly nice and welcoming. 10h30 something and 7th place- it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great. I had a 40k stretch at the start of the race where I more or less kicked it with François  the whole time and that was a blast, I then failed for 40+k before managing to finish with what I think (correct me if I read the results wrong) was the 2nd fastest split behind KJ for the final 11km- like I said I might have read that wrong? So some good, some bad. I am using both as motivation for this . Fast forwarding a year and things a pretty different but still same same. For example- I am still super excited like I was last year and am still questioning if I have done enough training or not. That is one of the things that has really changed- I have a coach now, well at least for about 6 weeks. Training has been going good. It is strange to have so much structure again, but I think it is really needed, for me, at this stage in the game. Is it working?? We will all find out on the afternoon of the 19th I guess. My build up has been good, albeit a short/small one. Apart from a little foot scare- I was pretty sure I had a stress fracture- I have been pretty happy with it- lots of tempo/speed, pretty little on big days and mileage.

where was I? I left and it is now 22hrs later….

I think I was talking about TNF100 in Australia- it should be a blast. Super stacked field, I think deeper than last year. Maybe not the fire power up front, but it is a deeper field for sure. I arrive in Sydney on Tuesday, which now seems way way too early, what was I thinking?? I am guessing I will spend that time deciding what Lycra to clad my self in and what near idetical shoes I will race in….. It should be fun anyway, Ryan will be kicking around and I think Mick will be also, so should get a little running with them I guess. Its going to be a very light week, actually considering how light my training is in general, I think I will probably only get out of bed to go to the bath room leading up to the race I will do another little post in Australia and hopefully take heaps of photos and all that jazz.  So check into TwittBook and stalk follow along!

Some random photos to make up for a lacklustre post

Leave a Reply

